A standardised English language test accepted worldwide as proof of English proficiency.

Short for: Test of English as a Foreign Language

There are three TOEFL variants:

  • iBT (Internet Based Test)
  • pBT (Paper Based Test)
  • ITP (Institutional Testing Program)

Many universities do not accept the TOEFL ITP. TOEFL ITP is generally accepted only by the institution which hosted the test.

The TOEFL iBT is the most common TOEFL variant. The TOEFL iBT consists of four sections:

  • Reading Comprehension
  • Listening Comprehension
  • Speaking
  • Written Expression

The test results remain valid for two years.

Universities set a minimum number of points you need to have attained in the test. This minimum number may vary depending on your course of study.