•     •   Impressum

Foundation and Articles


The founding of uni-assist

uni-assist e.V. was founded as an association on 4th November 2003 by 41 universities, the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) and the HRK (German Rectors' Conference/ HRK) with the purpose to make the admission of international applicants easier, more efficient, cost-effective and customer-friendly.


The office is located at Geneststraße 5, D-10829 Berlin under the direction of Simone Will (Chief Executive Director) and Bettina Böhme (Executive Director).

Elected president of uni-assist e.V. is Prof. Dr. Karin Luckey, Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee is elected vice-president.


The managing committee of uni-assist consists of:

Prof. Dr. Karin Luckey, Rector of the university of applied sciences Bremen

- elected president -

Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee, President of the Justus-Liebig-University Gießen

- elected vice-president -

Ulrich Grothus, Deputy Secretary-General of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)


Prof. Dr. Beatrix Busse, Vice-President Ruprecht-Karls-University, Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sagerer, Rector of the University of Bielefeld

Prof. Dr. Klaus Semlinger, Rector of HTW Berlin


The Association


uni-assist is open to all officially recognized universities in Germany. Membership is granted via a declaration of accession, made by the university’s administration.

No membership fees: uni-assist finances itself via handling fees, donations and subsidies. Start-up funding was provided by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) along with capital from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). uni-assist does not charge its assocation members any membership fees. As a rule, uni-assist does not pursue commercial goals – the amount of handling fees is based upon actual costs.

Our terms stipulate that any excess profit generated shall be used for further work related to the applications of international students, and in accordance with resolutions made by the Members’ assembly. It is also the universities who decide whether the study applicant has to pay any processing fees, or whether the university shall covers these costs itself.